Our Faculty
Get Evans School News
Contact Us
Dear colleagues, alumni, and supporters:
I’m pleased to introduce the Evans School Research Report. We designed this e-publication as a way to share the impactful and important work of the faculty and students of the Daniel J. Evans School of Public Policy & Governance. I hope you will find the information valuable and informative.


Sandra O. Archibald
Dean and Professor
This year marks the 10th anniversary of the Evans School's Ph.D. in Public Policy & Management program – the first such doctoral program in Washington state. Since 2006, we have increased the size of our entering classes, added a certificate program, and graduated numerous award-winning policy and management scholars. Learn more.
Spatial Regulation of Air Toxics Hot Spots
Policies targeting air toxics "hot spots" can help protect individuals in those areas from high risks, at increased overall social costs. Unexpectedly, such finer spatial regulation could also impose a larger aggregate risk on the population. Ann Bostrom, the Weyerhaeuser Endowed Professor in Environmental Policy, along with first author Rama Mohana R. Turaga and Douglas Noonan, published research on the potential effects of such regulations in Journal of Policy Analysis and ManagementRead the article.
The Power of Nonprofits: Mechanisms for Nonprofit Policy Influence
Does government funding for nonprofits make them more influential in policy debates? Assistant Professor Rachel Fyall’s research published in Public Administration Review explores this question and its implications for the democratic process and government authority. Read the article.
Is There a 'Workable' Race-Neutral Alternative to Affirmative Action in College Admissions?
The effectiveness and necessity of traditional affirmative action policies are often debated at universities, in the courts, and in the media. In an article published in Journal of Policy Analysis and Management, Professor Mark C. Long suggests we'd see modestly lower predicted GPAs and graduation rates under a race-neutral method, and it thus might not be 'workable'. Read the article.
See the complete list of accepted and published works from March 2015 to present on this webpage.
Crystal C. Hall and Stephen Kosack have been promoted to Associate Professor of Public Policy & Governance with tenure, effective this fall.

Since October, Hall has been on assignment in Washington, D.C., serving as a member the White House’s Social and Behavioral Sciences Team -- a group of leading behavioral scientists and innovators working to make existing federal programs more efficient and outcomes more effective.

Kosack is currently working on research that focuses on understanding how average or disadvantaged citizens can improve their governance, primarily in developing countries.
The Evans School is proud to welcome Benjamin M. Brunjes as an Assistant Professor effective this summer. Ben is a public management specialist whose academic research is focused on managerial complexity, including networks, contracts, and grants. He will receive a Ph.D. in Public Administration from the University of Georgia in June.
Alison Cullen was named a 2016 Faculty Fellow in the National Science Foundation Advanced Study Program at the National Center for Atmospheric Research (NACR).
J. Patrick Dobel, the John and Marguerite Walker Corbally Professor in Public Service, was honored by the American Society for Public Administration's (ASPA) Section on Ethics and Integrity in Governance. ASPA named his paper "What Athletic Performance Can Teach About Ethics” Public Integrity’s best article of 2015. Read the paper.
Professors Heather D. Hill and Mark C. Long will be presenting papers at the Association for Public Policy Analysis & Management (APPAM) International Conference in London this June. 
Professors Stephen B. Page and Craig Thomas will be presenting papers at the Public Management Research Association (PMRA) Conference in Denmark this June. Join us for a BBQ reception, sponsored by the Evans School, on June 23 at 6 p.m., at Bartholis Allé 8, Building 1321, 8000 C, at Aarhus University.

View on the web>>>

Allard, Scott W.

Anderson, C. Leigh

Blake, Michael

Bostrom, Ann

Cook, Joseph H.

Cullen, Alison C.

Dobel, J. Patrick

Fritzen, Scott

Fyall, Rachel

Gugerty, Mary Kay

Hall, Crystal C.

Hill, Heather D.

Hirschman, Charles

Kioko, Sharon N.

Kosack, Stephen

Layton, David F.

Long, Mark C.

Marlowe, Justin

Page, Stephen B.

Plotnick, Robert D.

Suárez, David

Thomas, Craig W.

Vigdor, Jacob L.

Zumeta, William M.

Copyright © 2016 Evans School of Public Policy & Governance, All rights reserved.

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list

Email Marketing Powered by MailChimp